Mon - Fri 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
330 Court Street Eagle River Wisconsin 54521
715-479-3600

Notice to All Vilas County Dog Owners

Pursuant to Section 174.052, Wisconsin Statutes, notice is hereby given to all owners of dogs in Vilas County that rabies vaccinations and dog licenses are required under the statutes. State-law defines as an owner anyone who owns, harbors, or keeps a dog.

Rabies vaccination required. Section 95.21{2) of the Wisconsin Statutes requires dog owners to have a veterinarian vaccinate each dog against rabies. A dog must be vaccinated no later than 5 months of age, and revaccination required within one year after the initial vaccination. Older dogs already vaccinated must be revaccinated before the vaccination certificate expires or, if the certificate does not specify an expiration date, within 3 years of the previous vaccination.

Dog licenses. Section 174.05 of the Wisconsin Statutes requires that dogs 5 months of age or older be licensed annually. The license year begins January 1 and continues through the following December 31. The dog license tax is $5 for a neutered male dog or spayed female dog (upon presentation of evidence that the dog is neutered or spayed), or $10 for an unneutered male dog or unspayed female dog, or one-half of these amounts if the dog became 5 months of age after July l of the license year. Multiple dog licenses are $35 for those that have 12 or fewer dogs and an additional $5 for each dog in excess of 12. Multiple dog licenses are available at a number of town offices and at the County Clerk's office.

Penalties. An owner who fails to have a dog vaccinated against rabies may be required to forfeit not less than $50 nor more than $100 for each dog not vaccinated. An owner who fails to obtain a license before April 1 of a license year will be required to pay a late fee of $5 for each dog not l i censed before that date. Failure to license a dog can also result in a fine of $25 for the first offense, $50 for second offense and $75 for third offense and any subsequent offense. Penalties do not include court costs or assessment fees.

Where to get a dog license. Your town or city treasurer issues dog licenses and requires owners to provide evidence of the dog's rabies immunization.