Vilas County Sheriff

330 Court Street
Eagle River, WI 54521
(715) 479-4441
(800) 472-7290

Sheriff Joseph Fath





Smart 911

The Vilas County Sheriff operates a Patrol Division that is the backbone of the "Protect and Serve" portion of the Department. With a full staff level of 20 sworn deputies and 5 lieutenants as Shift Supervisors, this division answers the calls for service 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

Administered by the Captain of Operations, this division in the Sheriff's Department is the first line of Law Enforcement response to 13 townships in Vilas County. Additionally, the division assists local law enforcement of the Eagle River Police Department and the Lac Du Flambeau Tribal Law Enforcement Officers in the one city of Vilas County and the town of Lac Du Flambeau.

The Patrol Division operates out of the main office located in the Vilas County Justice Center, located in the City of Eagle River. The Sheriff's Department has two substations in Arbor Vitae and Boulder Junction as well. The 25 total officers that comprise the Patrol Operations are also responsible for staffing the other non-traditional types of law enforcement that Vilas County offers. This includes the Emergency Response Team, consisting of 9 officers. Boat Patrol on the many bodies of water within the County are also carried out through Patrol Operations as well as winter Snowmobile Patrol.

The division has one Deputy assigned to Liaison duties in the largest school in the County, Northland Pines High School. The K-9 unit, Transport unit, Civil Service, and Court related duties are also carried out by the Patrol Unit. Patrol Officers are encouraged to get involved with and assist the NORDEG drug enforcement task force, helping with various aspects of drug investigations.

The patrol fleet currently stands at 21 vehicles and is slowly increasing with the intent of a one on one squad ratio. Of the 21 cars, current assigned cars are at 17 vehicles with only 4 shared units.

Below, you will find the different links to the various units within the Patrol Division.

  • K-9 Unit
  • Liason Officer
  • Emergency Response Team