Mon - Fri 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
330 Court Street Eagle River Wisconsin 54521
715-479-3600

Unclaimed Funds

Pursuant to Section 59.66(1) & (2) of the Wisconsin Statutes.  The purpose of this State Statute is to return money to its rightful owner.

Generally, County and municipal unclaimed property consists of uncashed checks that are older than 1 year.  Often times, uncashed checks are due to incorrect or incomplete mailing addresses.  Some examples of unclaimed funds are:

  • Jury Duty checks
  • Overpayment refunds
  • Vendor payments
  • Deposits
  • Overpaid Court Fees
These items are published in the Vilas County News Review and through the County's website.  The Vilas County Treasurer is required to post a public notice of all unclaimed Funds containing the names and last known address of the owners of any unclaimed money or security that has a value of at least $20.  The Treasurer may also be holding unclaimed money or securities in amounts less that $20.  Unless the owners call for and prove their ownership of the money or security within six (6) months from the time of completed publication,  the County Treasurer shall take possession of that unclaimed money or security.    

To see if there are Vilas County unclaimed funds being held in your name, check the
Vilas County Unclaimed Funds  listing.


If you find a listing that corresponds to your name and address: 

  • Appear in person at the Vilas County Treasurer’s Office, 330 Court Street, Eagle River, WI  54521.  The office is open Monday through Friday from 8:00 am to 4:00 pm.  Telephone inquiries are not accepted.
  • You will be required to verify your identity and that you are the person for whom the funds are being held. Bring valid identity documents showing your full name, current residential address, signature and photo. This could be a passport, Wisconsin Driver’s License, Wisconsin ID, or other government-issued identification. A utility bill with your full name and residential address may also be helpful.
  • Be prepared to give information about the amount of the claim, and the circumstances  of why the County, or a Vilas County municipality, would owe you money.
  • You will be required to attest to the truthfulness of your claim and to sign the attestation in front of a notary. A notary will be available at no charge at the County Courthouse; the County Notary will require a photo ID with your residential address and signature.
  • Verified claims will be paid by check, and mailed to your current address.  Checks will arrive in four to six weeks. No one will receive cash at the time of making a claim.
To get information about unclaimed property held by the State of Wisconsin, check the State of Wisconsin Unclaimed Property listing.